FHA Home Loans Hampton Roads

As you explore your options in your journey toward homeownership, understanding the mortgage options available to you is key. The Federal Housing Administration (FHA) plays a crucial role in facilitating homeownership, particularly for individuals who may face challenges qualifying for conventional loans. If you want to learn more about what FHA loans are, who they are designed for, the qualification criteria, and the benefits they offer to borrowers, you're in the right place. 

What are FHA loans?

FHA loans are mortgage loans backed by the Federal Housing Administration, a government agency within the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD). These loans are designed to make homeownership more accessible, especially for first-time homebuyers and those with limited financial resources. The FHA wants more Americans to be able to become homeowners, and offer support toward that goal. 

Who is an FHA loan for?

FHA loans are designed to be suitable for individuals who may face challenges in obtaining conventional financing. They cater to people in scenarios like these:

  • First-Time Homebuyers: FHA loans are popular among first-time buyers who do not have a substantial down payment or established credit history.
  • Low-to-Moderate Income Borrowers: FHA loans are structured to accommodate borrowers with varying income levels, making homeownership feasible for a broader demographic.
  • Buyers with Lower Credit Scores: While FHA loans do consider your credit history, they are often more forgiving of lower credit scores compared to conventional loans. Borrowers who have good credit, but not good enough to qualify for the best terms with a conventional loan, will be a good fit for an FHA loan.
  • Borrowers with Limited Savings: FHA loans generally have lower down payment requirements than conventional loans, reducing the upfront financial burden on buyers. In many cases the down payment for an FHA loan is just 3.5%
  • Those Requiring Seller Contributions: FHA loans allow sellers to contribute towards the buyer's closing costs, providing additional flexibility for borrowers. While this is not the only loan that allows it, do not assume that every mortgage is going to be flexible in this way.

How do I qualify for an FHA loan?

To qualify for an FHA loan, your lender will need to look at a few factors in your finances. This is what you can expect.

Credit Score and History

While FHA loans are known for being more lenient regarding credit scores, borrowers should have a credit score of at least 500 to qualify for a 10% down payment. A score of 580 or higher may allow for a lower down payment. The highest category of scores can allow you to put just 3.5% down or possibly even qualify for down payment assistance.

Down Payment

One of the notable advantages of FHA loans is the lower down payment requirement. While conventional loans may require up to 20% down, FHA loans typically require a minimum down payment of 3.5%. This is a significant benefit for buyers with limited savings.

If you are otherwise financially prepared to buy a home, but are waiting to save up that down payment, chances are you are ready to become a homeowner with an FHA loan. Don't let the delay of not having your down payment saved up keep you from your homeownership goals.

Debt-to-Income (DTI) Ratio

Lenders assess the borrower's debt-to-income ratio, considering both the housing expenses and other monthly debts. Your DTI is calculated by looking at the monthly debt payments you make compared to your monthly income. For example, if you make $4,000/month and have $1,000 in debt payments, you have a 25% DTI. FHA loans generally allow for a higher debt-to-income ratio compared to conventional loans.

Employment and Income

Borrowers are required to demonstrate a steady employment history and sufficient income to cover mortgage payments. Lenders may evaluate employment stability and income consistency to assess the borrower's ability to repay the loan.

Property Eligibility

Not all properties are eligible to be purchased with an FHA loan. In order to use an FHA loan, you need to buy an eligible property type. The property being financed must meet certain criteria set by the FHA, which your mortgage lender can help explain if it is relevant for you. The criteria includes being the borrower's primary residence and meeting minimum property standards to ensure habitability.

Mortgage Insurance Premiums (MIP) or Private Mortgage Insurance (PMI)

FHA loans require mortgage insurance premiums (MIP) (also called PMI or private mortgage insurance) to protect lenders in case of borrower default. Because the lender is taking on a higher level of risk with an FHA loan, due to the lower down payment and the sometimes lower credit score, this insurance covers them if things go south. MIP consists of an upfront premium paid at closing and an annual premium paid in monthly installments.

FHA loans play a vital role in promoting homeownership by providing accessible financing options for a diverse range of borrowers. While they come with certain requirements and considerations, the benefits—such as lower down payments, lenient credit criteria, and seller contributions—make FHA loans an attractive choice for those entering the housing market.

If you want to learn more about buying a home in Norfolk or the Hampton Roads, contact us any time. 

Contact Us

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.